Awards news!

August 27th, 2013 at 9:46 am (Awards, Epilogue)

Epilogue-CoverIn addition to the fantastic news that Kathleen Jennings is on the World Fantasy Awards ballot for Best Artist (see our special offer for To Spin a Darker Stair here – just $5!), over the weekend the Washington Science Fiction Association’s Small Press Award shortlist was announced, and we’re VERY excited to see Jason Nahrung’s Epilogue story “The Mornington Ride” on it! This story won the Victorian Chronos Award for Best Short Story earlier in the year, and we’re just delighted to see it recognised on an international ballot.

The WSFA Small Press Award is perhaps my favourite award, because not only does it recognise the very best of small press around the world, but the process by which the shortlist and winner are decided is very special. Stories are read “blind” by a panel (meaning the author and publication details are unknown) who select the shortlist. The shortlist is then read by the members of WSFA (again, completely blind), and the winner voted on. Which means the stories are judged completely on merit – marvellous!

Huge congratulations to Jason for making such a prestigious shortlist and fingers crossed for the announcement of the winner!

Want to read the story? Print stock of Epilogue is almost sold out (get your copy here while you can!), but the ebook is available from Kindle, Kobo, Wizard’s Tower and Weightless Books!

Year’s Best Australian Fantasy and Horror reprints

April 22nd, 2013 at 11:35 pm (Awards)

We would like to congratulate all our authors whose works will appear in the 2012 Year’s Best Australian Fantasy and Horror (from Ticonderoga Publications, July 2013). In particular, three stories first published by FableCroft will be reprinted! Well done to Thoraiya Dyer (“Sleeping Beauty” from Epilogue), Faith Mudge (“Oracle’s Tower” from To Spin a Darker Stair) and Tansy Rayner Roberts (“What Books Survive” from Epilogue). Lovely news!

Speaking of news, we’ve started a new page on this website called “FableCroft Books in Review“, where we link to online reviews of our books – check it out to see what reviewers have been saying about us!

It’s Epilogue day!

January 14th, 2013 at 4:16 pm (Epilogue, Reviews)

Epilogue-CoverToday is a big day for Epilogue, it seems! It is now, at long last, available on the Kindle store, which is very exciting. And to follow that up, a review by Cat Sparks of the anthology just went live at Cosmos, which is very nice! Among other things, Cat says:

If, like me, you find something compelling in post-disaster scenarios, try Epilogue for an Australian-flavoured take on the end of the world. 

Stay tuned for more exciting FableCroft news over the next few days!

Win a copy of Epilogue on Goodreads!

May 28th, 2012 at 2:20 pm (Apocalypse Hope, Competitions)


Goodreads Book Giveaway

Epilogue by Tehani Wessely


by Tehani Wessely

Giveaway ends June 08, 2012.

See the giveaway details
at Goodreads.

Enter to win


Announcement: Epilogue table of contents

December 11th, 2011 at 10:06 pm (Apocalypse Hope)

It is with great pleasure that I announce the table of contents for Epilogue (the anthology formerly known as Apocalypse Hope). I had more than 200 submissions for this anthology, many of a very high quality, and it was difficult task to sift through them to pick out the finest gems. I present the final lineup, and look forward to bringing these stories to you in print.

“Time and tide” by Lyn Battersby

“Fireflies” by Steve Cameron

“Sleeping Beauty” by Thoraiya Dyer

“The Fletcher test” by Dirk Flinthart

“Ghosts” by Stephanie Gunn

“Sleepers” by Kaia Landelius

“Solitary” by Dave Luckett

“Cold comfort” by David McDonald

“Mornington ride” by Jason Nahrung

“The last good town” by Elizabeth Tan

“A memory trapped in light” by Joanne Anderton

“Only the books survive” by Tansy Rayner Roberts

Thank you to every author who sent in submissions, which came from all around the world – some rejections were very difficult to make, and I wish those authors the very best in finding their stories a home.

For those interested, the final contents include 12 stories, eleven by Australians and one from Sweden. There are seven female authors, and five male. The stories are all original to the anthology.

I’m delighted with the line up for Epilogue, and can’t wait to show it to you all!



And the winner is…

December 11th, 2011 at 12:58 pm (Apocalypse Hope)

Thank you to everyone on Twitter and Facebook who made title suggestions for renaming Apocalypse Hope. There were some wonderful titles put forward, and I loved a number of them (just so you know, After the Apocalypse wasn’t a contender because Maureen McHugh had a collection titled that this year. After the End was another popular suggestion, but there’s a 2005 zombie movie by that name!). The voting was tight as well, so obviously the titles put forward were appealing to many people – makes it tough to figure out a decision! However, after a long and thoughtful process, culminating in a face to face discussion yesterday, the winner has been decided! The anthology formerly known as Apocalypse Hope will be published as…


Thank you to @RattusAsh on Twitter (shared by @debkalin) for the suggestion – as promised, I’ll send you a free copy of the anthology when it comes into the world! Thanks again to everyone who made suggestions and voted – your input was appreciated more than I can say :)